Kentucky rain

My toes. I feel them being caressed, still.

On evenings like tonight, I remember my toes dragging along the dirt under the swing set. I would swing slowly back and forth listening to Elvis sing to me about Kentucky. The rains.

I always kept wondering if I’d make it to Kentucky by myself. If I’d get to go and wander through faraway cities all by myself with rain in my shoes too. Seems silly now. But, not so silly.

I love to wander. I look out into the sky and ponder the future of our world and ponder my own life and the lives that have gone on before me. As I do this I feel so very thankful that I have breath in my lungs. I feel thankful that I have a smile on my face and I feel thankful that I am a brave soul that still wants to explore.

I want to explore my heart, I want to live. I feel so very blessed that I still have that inside of me. Passion can be easily lost.

Leave a Reply

